INDIAN PHYSICS ASSOCIATION



(Pune Chapter)

C/o. Department of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University, PUNE 411 007 (INDIA)

Phone: (020) 2569 2678 Fax: (020) 2569 1684

Email: ipa@physics.unipune.ac.in

Office Bearers:

Prof. Dr. Sanjay Dhole

President

Dr. V. L. Mathe

Secretary

Dr. S. D. Sartale

Treasurer

Dr. (Mrs.) S. R. Chaudhari

Vice president

Dr. (Ms.) D. S. Sidhaye

Joint Secretary

Dr. G. R. Pansare

Joint Secretary

Executive Members:

Dr. B. N. Pawar

Dr. S. G. Kulkarni

Dr. Bhushan Patil

Dr. Mahesh Vedpathak

Dr. K. V. Wagachkar

Dr. Vinit Gaikwad

Prof. R. Vaidya

Call for Nomination to R.K. Bhalla Prize 2017

Dr. Ravikumar Bhalla was a research student in the Department of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University during 1973-76. He carried out research in the Microtron Laboratory under the supervision of Prof. M. R. Bhide and Prof. V. N. Bhoraskar. He was an active and enthusiastic research scholar who was very popular amongst the research students. After completing his Ph. D. degree he was appointed as a lecturer in this Department. Dr. Bhalla proceeded to New Zeeland for postdoctoral research work; and successfully completed it. While returning back to India, in 1982 unfortunately his aeroplane crashed at Mumbai Airport. In the sweet memory of this active researcher IPA, with his family and friends has started the award for the best research student in Physics working in Savitribai Phule Pune University.

Therefore, I hereby appeal to the research students in Physics to nominate your name for the R. K. Bhalla Prize. To nominate, you are requested to submit an application on plain paper along with list of publications and highlights of achievement in research career to **The Secretary, Dr. V. L. Mathe, Dept. of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune – 07.** Interviews for the same will be held on Wednesday, 23rd August 2017 at 11:00 a.m. in Seminar Hall, Dept. of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University.

[Prof. S. D. Dhole]