Raman Memorial Conference - 2023

March 17th - 18th, 2023

"Physics at different length scales"

"Remembering Edwin Hubble"

Jointly organized by

Department of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune


Indian Physics Association, Pune Chapter

  • To Register For Raman Memorial Conference-2023. Click here...

  • About RMC

    About the Conference

    Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman

    Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman was an Indian physicist. He employed monochromatic light from a mercury arc lamp which penetrated transparent material and was allowed to fall on a spectrograph to record its spectrum. He detected lines in the spectrum which he later called Raman lines. He presented his theory at a meeting of scientists in Bangalore on 16 March 1928, and won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930. In his memory, research students in Physics department of Savitribai Phule Pune University organise Raman Memorial Conference every year.

    RMC The Raman Memorial Conference, started in the year 1994, is organized annually by the research students of the Department of Physics, Savitribai Phule Pune University. The two day conference is enriched by scientific talks and discussions. There are five invited talks with oral sessions. The invited talks are delivered by eminent scientists from various fields to promote the interaction between the scientists and the students. The open discussion after each oral presentation and at poster session is a key to self assessment and self understanding. Ever since the event started, it has continuously grown in all aspects. The conference aims to encourage young researchers working in physical sciences and related areas to present their work, interact among themselves and with eminent scientists in relevant fields.

    RMC-2023 Poster

    poster pdf file

    Motivation of RMC

    We, at RMC strive to bring together researchers from the broad areas of science to deliver talks, discuss and exchange new ideas on recent advances of different fields. The purpose of this conference is to provide a platform for discussing promising developments in different areas as outlined below. Further, this gathering will enable delegates to establish research collaborations as well as link up for future collaborations.

    We anticipate that the Raman Memorial Conference outcome will lead to significant contribution to the current state of knowledge in these up-to-date fields. In the interest of presenting original abstracts as either oral presentations or posters, the organizing committee of the conference invites prospective authors to submit their abstracts.

    RMC 2023 Theme

    Physics at different length scales

    The theme of RMC 2023 conference is "Physics at different length scales." The quest of humankind is to unravel the mysteries underlying diverse length scales, be it an atom or the universe. With this inspiration, aiming at the researchers from the different fields we are happy to announce the RMC 2023. The scientific program emphasizes on experimental/theoretical/computational frameworks used to find answers to number of scale-dependent scientific questions.

    Although the theme in itself is interdisciplinary and wide enough to cover almost every research topic, to mention a few, the planned sessions include following topics:

      Atoms, Molecules, complex systems and their multiscale modelling


      Soft matter



      Astronomy and Astrophysics

    RMC 2023 is a platform to bring together researchers from the broad areas of science to deliver talks, discuss and exchange new ideas on recent advances of respective fields.

    Presentation Categories

    There are five main categories for presentations:

    • Paper (oral) presentation by research students (8 + 2 minutes)
    • Ph.D. thesis presentation (20 + 10 minutes)
    • Poster presentation(3 + 2 minutes) by:
    • Research students
    • M.Sc. / M. Tech. students
    • Panel Discussion

    Prizes will be rewarded for best presentations in each category.
    There will be a special oral presentation prize for Interdisciplinary Science topics.

    Note: The prize certificate will be awarded only to the first author who is the presenting author (poster/oral).





    Tel.: 020–25622802

    Mob.: 9717904650 / 8087305065 / 8888166725


    Organising Commitee,
    Raman Memorial Conference - 2023,
    Department of Physics,
    Savitribai Phule Pune University,
    Pune - 411 007.

    Organising Committee

            Mohammad Samsuzzaman
            Nazmeen Sayyed
            Mayuri Khade
            Sandhya Gadge
            Prachi Kapse
            Pallavi Mutadak
            Sanket Jangale
            Gauri Deshpande
            Harshal Potdar
            Vishnu Gore
            Reshma Jadhav
            Stuti Parial
            Shivani Tiwari
            Ankosh Deshmukh
            Nikita Kapadi
            Tanuja Shinde
            Samadhan Pandhare
            Aditi Prabhudesai

    Copyright © 2023 - All Rights Reserved by RMC committee.
    Best viewed in Google-Chrome and Firefox web browsers.
    website maintained by: RMC 2023 Organising Committee